Brussels / The Hague, 5 April 2017 - The European Commission and Europa Nostra revealed today the winners of the 2017 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, Europe’s top honour in the heritage field. The 29 laureates from 18 countries are being recognised for their notable achievements in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising. Independent expert juries examined a total of 202 applications, submitted by organisations and individuals from 39 countries across Europe, and chose the winners.

Europa Nostra Creative Europe

Citizens from around the world can now vote online for the Public Choice Award and rally support for the winning project(s) from their own or another European country. Voters have the chance to win a trip for two to Finland and be a special guest at the Awards Ceremony that will be held in the historic city of Turku on 15 May. During the ceremony, the seven Grand Prix laureates, each of whom will receive €10,000, and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among this year’s winning projects, will be announced.

2017 Award Winners

Category Conservation

▪ St. Martin’s Chapel in Stari Brod, near Sisak, CROATIA

▪ Baroque Complex and Gardens in Kuks, Hradec Králové region, CZECH REPUBLIC

▪ Ancient city of Karthaia, Island of Kea, GREECE

▪ Bastion of the Grand Master's Palace in Rhodes, GREECE

▪ White Pyramid in Rome, ITALY

▪ The King’s Road across Filefjell, NORWAY

▪ The Clérigos’ Church and Tower in Porto, PORTUGAL

▪ Cultural Palace in Blaj, Transylvania region, ROMANIA

▪ Cap Enderrocat Fortress, Mallorca, SPAIN

▪ Roof for the ruins of the Monastery of San Juan in Burgos, SPAIN

▪ Cromford Mills: Building 17, Derbyshire, UNITED KINGDOM

Category Research

▪ Rode Altarpiece Research and Conservation Project, Tallinn, ESTONIA

▪ ‘Carnival King of Europe’, San Michele all’Adige, ITALY

▪ ‘Museum Piranesi’, Milan, ITALY

▪ Bosch Research and Conservation Project, ‘s-Hertogenbosch, THE NETHERLANDS

Category Dedicated Service

▪ Mr. Ferdinand Meder, Zagreb, CROATIA

▪ Mr. Jim Callery, County Roscommon, IRELAND

▪ The Norwegian Lighthouse Society, NORWAY

▪ Mr. Zoltán Kallós, Transylvania region, ROMANIA

Category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

▪ Erfgoedplus: Online heritage platform, Hasselt, BELGIUM

▪ Centre of Visual Arts and Research, Nicosia, CYPRUS

▪ Educational programme for Czech cultural heritage, Telč, Vysočina region, CZECH REPUBLIC

▪ Paavo Nurmi Legacy project, Turku, FINLAND

▪ Heritage Crafts Initiative for Georgia, Tbilisi, GEORGIA

▪ Cultural Heritage and Barrier-free Accessibility project, Berlin, GERMANY

▪ ilCartastorie: Storytelling in the archives, Naples, ITALY

▪ Jewish Cultural Heritage: Educational programme, Warsaw, POLAND

▪ Advanced Master in Structural Analysis of Monuments and Historical Constructions, European programme coordinated in Guimarães, PORTUGAL

▪ SAMPHIRE: Maritime heritage project in western Scotland, UNITED KINGDOM


A Europa Nostra Award is also presented to remarkable heritage achievements from two European countries not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme.

▪ Kılıç Ali Paşa Hamam in Istanbul, TURKEY (Category Conservation)

▪ Philippe Stern’s Collection of Timekeepers, Geneva, SWITZERLAND (Category Research)


Powered by

email icon smallphone icon smallfacebook icon smallyoutube icon small